TeamSpeak and channel advice please

In a long week of practice both in the editor and on the MP Altis server, this old Noob has become a pretty fair heli pilot, and has had his first ever taste of multiplayer action after 30 years of solo gaming. However, one thing continues to elude me. I can’t quite figure out how to reach other players through TeamSpeak.

When I sign in as a pilot I move to the Altis pilot channel (with the list of all active pilots), but I can never seem to communicate with any of my passengers nor hear any pilot chatter from any of the other active pilots on the list. I continue to ask for mic checks while in flight but I never get a response from passengers. Maybe the passengers are NOT on TeamSpeak? Maybe they just don’t bother to communicate. I get only visual messages about missions and changes. As a pilot am I supposed to also get verbal messages from HQ?

When logging in as a ground-pounder I make note of what the unit name is when I sign into a slot. Let’s say it’s Bravo 3-1. I switch TeamSpeak to the Bravo channel on Altis, but my call sign is the only one that shows up in the Bravo channel list and I don’t usually hear anyone else speaking. And where ARE those other Bravo 3-1 players on the map? Am I not supposed to attempt to somehow connect up with them, as a member of their unit? Can I hear them and communicate with them on Bravo channel even if they’re across the map somewhere?

This whole communication system is a bit mind boggling…or maybe I’m just clueless. And before you ask, Yes, I have tested my mic inside the TeamSpeak software, and it shows it’s working (I don’t have side tone). I use Bose noise cancelling headphones and a desktop mic, and also TrackIr V5.

What an I missing here? Is there another info source I can visit? thanks in advance.

So TeamSpeak and Arma are different comm systems (exception of TFAR).

TS